I am a Fund for Teachers Fellow.

Image

Fund for Teachers Fellows in New York City

The journey to Tokyo started months ago when I contacted my friends at Nextoy, the company that distributes KenKen puzzles in the US. I wanted to see if they would connect me with Tetsuya Miyamoto, the creator of KenKen. They did, and after just a few conversations, Miyamoto-sensei was inviting me to his classroom this summer. That’s when I made my proposal to Fund for Teachers, which is now making the whole experience possible.

Tonight I met my other Fund for Teachers fellows. Here’s a few:

There is Michael, who is traveling to England and France to study aquaponics; David, who is traveling to Sri Lanka and Maldives to study how data is collected after natural disasters; Nicole, who is traveling to southeast Asia to study eco-tourism.

What all of us have in common is a desire for adventure and learning and bringing it back into our classrooms.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

